Wilderness

Not everyone knows about wilderness. A lot of people think that it is just untouched land where no one lives permanently and it is. There are special places in the U.S. though that have been set aside and are protected by law not to be used for natural resources or developement. Here is the wikipedia page for the Gila Wilderness.  I saw a bumper sticker on the wall of a tavern in Glenwood that said “Wilderness, Land of No Use”.  Wilderness is valuable not just psychologically and aesthetically, but economically.  Just the land alone could be sold for billions of dollars not to mention the natural resources like copper, gold and lumber.  So why did we do it?  If future generations are to remember us with gratitude rather than contempt, we must leave them a glimpse of the world as it was in the beginning, not just after we got through with it — Lyndon B. Johnson 

Western Border of the Gila Wildernesss

Western Border of the Gila Wildernesss

About ponderosaman

Please comment on my posts and let me know what you want to know about turkey hunting. I really like turkey hunting and think about it less then only one other thing. If you can't figure out what that other thing is, then I am not going to tell you;) This blog is no B.S., highly informative, and dedicated to getting you out and turkey hunting with as little time and effort as possible. I have started at the beginning and gone all the way to the end of this hobby without anyone, but my dad to help me. I learned how to turkey hunt from doing it and reading the internet. This sport is fun, tough and full of beautiful women. Just kidding about the women part, I have seen a total of two women in the turkey woods. If you are a woman and are reading this good for you. We need more of you out there. The whole point of my blog is to get all of you men, women and children to get out in the wild, love it and build a conservation ethic. For me putting myself back into the ecosystem is the number one thing that makes me want to care for it. I hope you will want that too if you don't already. Let me know how I can help!!
This entry was posted in Where and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment